top of page
  • Writer's pictureWandering Woman

Day 9

13.9.18


I have so many mixed emotions occurring all at once inside of me. I am glad to be over here. London continues to surprise me every day. But I also hate it here. I can't stand how slow they are over here, and I feel as if I am not getting the whole story somehow. I know it sounds crazy, but I feel like there are things they aren't telling us. Aidan feels the same way. I also feel like the US is a society where we help people if they don't understand. If you don't get it, we will try our best to help you figure it out. I do not get that feeling over here, but instead, I get thrown to the wolves. Aidan thinks it is part of the culture where they already want to be understood instead of having to explain themselves.


Why did I think this was going to be easy? I thought that since I spoke English, I could just come over here and it will be simple. It is hard work, and it is stressful and a lot to deal with. I am having to assimilate to a new culture, school, and community while trying to navigate my way around a new city without getting hit by a car all at once. Don't get me wrong, I would not change my mind about coming here, but it is more then I thought it was going to be.


I am thankful for this trip however because I get to spend time with people I would have hardly talked to back home. I still have yet to make any friends with people not from America, but that will come. I have met people from Philadelphia, D.C. and New York. I am also getting to know the other AQ students since I only knew Aidan when we came over here. I knew of the others but this time aboard is allowing us to come together when we might not have gotten the chance back home.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 14

18.9.18 Two weeks. I can't believe we have been here for two whole weeks. It was a pretty relaxing day. I spent some time in Teddington before meeting Aidan in Twickenham for lunch. We ended up at the

Day 13

17.9.18 Well, today was the first day of classes. I am happy to be back in the classroom finally. It feels like it has been such a long time. I am a little out of sorts. My first class was only 2 hour

bottom of page