top of page
  • Writer's pictureWandering Woman

Day 7

11.9.18


I can't believe we have been here for a week already! It does not feel like it at all. It somehow feels like we have been here forever and that we arrived just yesterday.


I am finding my way around town well and even checked out a few charity shops. These are second-hand stores that are tied to a particular charity so the prices as pretty sweet. The stuff they have is adorable as well. I was a bit hesitant about purchasing anything because I first have no idea what size I am in the UK and second, I have no idea what people my age wear. I ended up trying on a few things, but nothing worked out for me. I find that American women are not built the same as European women. Some of the women over here look like they could fit into children's clothes back home. I can say I am actually on the taller side of the spectrum which is odd for me because I have never been considered tall. This means that I am not going to be a UK 8 like I am back in the States. I need to double check, but I think I will be a UK 14. I know that back home a UK 14 is about what I would wear, but I think I still see the number. And I don't like it. I worked so hard at home to go down two dress sizes, like three shirt sizes and full jean size. Coming over here and trying to buy clothes, I feel like I haven't accomplished anything.


On the bright side, while out for coffee with a few girls from Philadelphia, I found out that there is a bar in London called the Passyunk Avenue that I need to check out. It is a bar that was opened up by a man from Philadelphia, and he does it all; Philly cheesesteaks, the Eagles games, Phillies, 76ers and, of course, the Flyers games. I told Allie about it, and she said only I could go to a different country and find a Philadelphia themed bar. When we go into London, I want to check it out before I go back on Sunday.


After coffee with the girls, I went to check out the crepe place Maddy wants to try. Only I was by myself because she was feeling under the weather. It was terrific of course. I told the people behind to counter that I will come back with my friends. I know Maddy with love it, but I think Aidan will too. After that, I wandered around Twickenham. I love it here so much!


I made sure to stop by the International Office to speak with Kristen and Andy about Aidan's flight. I was going to meet him at the airport, but I think instead I am going to meet him on campus. I would have to get up at 6, but now I can stay in bed until 7:45. Well, hopefully. The house was woken up at 8:30 this morning by the fire alarm. It was a drill, but it still sucked. That was not the wake-up call I was wanting.


I figured out where the post office is and I will have to check back here tomorrow for my sheets. I was told they came today, but I think the post is closed by now.


A full week. That is crazy. I like it here, and I am slowly not caring about being American. I find that people, for the most part, are accepting of me, but there are still times where I feel out of place. I do wish I packed differently. I packed for 80-degree weather as well as -20 degrees. So far, the highest it has been like 75. I also wished I would have left the Toms at home and brought another pair of booties, brought more of actual shirts instead of as many tees, a few more dresses, and a skirt. It is okay that I did not because I love to shop, but I feel like it is more expensive over here. I like the charity shops, but they can be a hit or miss at times.


I am also learning that I should carry more cash. Right now I am making small purchases, so it isn't worth using a credit card and paying international fees. Plus, then I feel I am less likely to spend it, or at least not as fast. While I am shopping over here, I am keeping in mind what I will wear when I go back home. I am staying away from stuff that you can only get in London, so stationary thing. Their notebooks over here are longer. I like them, but I know if I get a binder or a portfolio, it won't fit my stuff back home.


I have also adjusted my speak a bit. Lovely instead of fabulous, cheers instead of thanks (I think that is correct), chips instead of fires. I still call things by the American name, but that is fine. I have lived in the States longer than I have been in the UK.


I do miss window screens. Our windows are screenless. It is not bad, especially being on the second floor but it can be a problem at times. Yesterday I had a moth fly into my room and would not leave! I also miss how productive the US is. The UK, I feel is nonchalant about things they should not be. I get it a culture thing, but I would like to know when my classes are, you know before they start. We are getting our timetables on Friday, but it is still stressful. I also missed a mandatory meeting today because I was told about it two hours prior and I was at work. There is a make up I have to go to, but no one knows anything about it. Sometimes, I feel like I have to pull teeth and crack some skulls to get the necessary information promptly. This will be good for me I think, it will make me relax about stuff, but it will take a second to adjust to.


That was the scariest part. I was going to a foreign country, and I had no idea where I would be living, working or what and when my classes would be. It has been a little stressful, but I am trusting they know what they are doing.

No, I am serious. Hands down the best place for coffee.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 14

18.9.18 Two weeks. I can't believe we have been here for two whole weeks. It was a pretty relaxing day. I spent some time in Teddington before meeting Aidan in Twickenham for lunch. We ended up at the

Day 13

17.9.18 Well, today was the first day of classes. I am happy to be back in the classroom finally. It feels like it has been such a long time. I am a little out of sorts. My first class was only 2 hour

bottom of page